First Break through (Mar 27 — Apr 3)

Phillip Antwi-Buosiako
2 min readApr 3, 2019

--

So after a long time working on this and banging my head trying to figure out how to get the Kinect running in Unity, I finally hit a break through on that front. I had to borrow a PC from one of my friends because my mac couldn’t handle it and kept crashing. After I finally obtained a PC for the project, I immediately started looking for SDK options for the Kinect and came across one from Microsoft for free. I downloaded that as well as unity and to test that it was working, I connected the Kinect to the PC and ran the device and got the satisfying blinking yellow light that says “I’m ready to go”. After this minor but somehow major success, I then embarked on the hard part, finding assets for the kinect. Finally I ended up finding a pack on the unity website and downloaded it. Then with the help of some youtube tutorials I figured out how to make the assets move with the user of the kinect camera. This was a major breakthrough because it’s the first time I saw actual results on screen and I can’t wait to get to the rest of the project and complete it. Next step would be to work on collision with items and then finally sync the dropping of objects with the music.

--

--

Phillip Antwi-Buosiako

Interactive Multimedia Major and Marketing Minor at The College of New Jersey. Focus in Music Production and Artist and Repertoire. Experimenting on Game Design