Senior Thesis April, 10–17

Andrew Clarke
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019
2 min readApr 23, 2019

So it’s been a journey of countless hours designing, building, decorating the dozen levels in my mod. It’s gone pretty well when it comes to the overall aesthetic. I’ve taken full use of the lighting engine, including good use of darkness, lighting, and the beautiful shadows the two create.

Deep within this underground facility, there is a relic that needs to be collected in order for the cultists to be able to take their leave. This gives the player a non-lethal way to go through the mod, although there will still be some robots and creatures to battle on your way through.

This part of the facility is a geothermal plant that has been gone into a meltdown state. While battling the various creature, the player will have to watch their footing, or else they get burned by the surfacing lava pools.

It’s been a lot of work, but I have created some levels that I think can aesthetically rival those that shipped with the game. If I had more time and no coding to do, I’d make them even prettier.

--

--