Senior Thesis Update 4/24–5/1

Andrew Clarke
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019
2 min readMay 1, 2019

So, there’s about a week left and I feel like I’m still on track. So far, I’m just banging out my quest scripting and I’m probably halfway done it all. It’s going mostly smoothly with only a few hiccups. The engine that I am working in is definitely a finicky one, and weird issues often rise up. Fortunately, for anyone having to work with the Creation Kit, they can mostly be easily dealt with by just turning the program off and on again. It’s hard to believe that a AAA company works off of this engine, solely, for their huge games. No wonder their games, namely Fallout and The Elder Scrolls, are glitchy messes when they release. At the end of the day, however, I still love the power that the Creation Kit gives to the creator for free. Bethesda makes a lot of mistakes with their releases, but the work the put into the Creation Kit for their fans is wonderful.

I hope by the end of this project, I will have extensive first-hand experience of working in an Industry Level game engine. And so far, I feel like I’ve had plenty. I think that out of everything I’ve done so far, from scripting, to dialogue, to gameplay design, my favorite thing to have worked on is Level Design. I hope to pursue this discipline further in my career.

--

--