Thesis: My End of the Line

Steven Fano
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019
2 min readMay 16, 2019

In all of my stress and struggles through my entire year of thesis, I have a lot of thoughts and feelings. The class is mostly focused on the future. It is stressful to think about the future. What plans you have, what people you know, who do you want to know, and what you want to do. I have spent many days worrying about my future. I had no plans, no ambitions, and only general ideas. It is a scary thought that requires planning and *gasp* talking to people around you and away from you. It is about making the job connections where we want to plan for ourselves. It is about making the lasting connections for your entire life.

The class is not traditionally hard. There are no set project plans. Everything is up to you (Except the progress reports). My project was a simple pixel art assignment for all of the students. I did not technically complete it, but I was pretty close. And this was my second project. My original goal was to make a small game in a “choose your own adventure” way. I realize in the second semester, I was overambitious. I had a small dialogue tree and was focusing on making my game based on that. I could not do it, and I was afraid of failing. But the professors talked to me and convinced me to change my direction and make something smaller, but easier and doable. While I am sad I could not fulfill my original plan, this is a nice compromise and I would encourage others to not worry if they cannot stick to their original vision. A year feels as short as you make it, and it is not worth worrying about it if it is early enough. I am happy with how my project came out, and the feedback, however small, was invaluable. Even when I was stuck in my depression and stress and fear of not finding work, I know the people in my life here care about me, and I am happy to have spent my five years here at TCNJ and enjoyed my time here. I will miss everyone and will remember many of my fellow seniors. I want to thank you all and I know you will all do amazing things. Please do for your project what makes you happy in a way that your time in Thesis will allow. And have the best damn time as you soon graduate and become full adults.

--

--