Thesis Project Change

Steven Fano
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019
2 min readFeb 13, 2019

Through a bit of advice and planning, I am planning on making more pixel art, instead of continuing my game. I discovered that coding was not a very strong point for me, and I had a hard time finding good software to make the game, such as through RPG Maker or Unity. I am a very slow, methodical worker, so I would take forever to go through the coding of a game, and do not fully understand what the coding language of C++ means. I would have to waste time exploring and learning the language, taking away from the time I would have used to make the game, write the story, and clean up everything. I may not be able to complete the game in time for the fair.

I feel I betrayed my old idea for the game. I wanted to be able to make a simple game to see if I can make video games on my own. I realize through my changes and lack of game creation knowledge, I must abandon this idea. Instead, I will be making another project, something more to what I was doing. I will be making pixel art and pixel videos to show I can make art. It is, in a way, the original purpose I came to college and what I have been working with: making art. I see I have been making some portfolio art for myself and my projects, over the many years I have worked and lived at TCNJ. I feel much better about this project than I was about my other one. I hope to make plenty of pixel art that everyone can enjoy.

--

--