Thesis Update 2/6–2/13

Andrew Clarke
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019
2 min readFeb 13, 2019

Here’s the second update. Man, if only I didn’t have THREE other whole classes to do work in maybe I’d be able to do more for this class this week. I have to do big modeling projects in two of my other classes and also do a bunch of writing for my storytelling class. It’s a bunch of work and I seem to be spending most of my days on a computer. And then after all of that, I have to come back here and write about my week and what I got done. So here we are, week three. I guess here’s what I got done. Mainly it was just getting the first area, probably out of 5, in my mod done. This area was fun to create and I really got a hang of the creation kit and what it can do for me regarding level design.

Here is the layout of the first level. With the cave design, I have tried to keep it organic and natural looking. There are super tight corridors that give the sense of claustrophobia as well as large caverns that give a sense of awe when you step inside.

In this section of the cave, it is very natural and mostly undisturbed by humans, mainly due to the large guardian like bear at the end of the cave. As shown in this picture, your way is guided by radioactive, glowing spores on the rock faces and ground.

In the next week, I hope to finish the set dressing of this large area with clutter, loot, and notes. Plus, I will finalize enemy placement where appropriate.

--

--