Thesis Weekly Reflection 3/6–3/13

Julie Huang
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019
1 min readMar 18, 2019

I worked my way through an introductory OpenToonz tutorial after downloading the software. However, after the tutorial and doing some more research into the software, I decided it wasn’t worth learning a whole new program that would take up far too much of my time to get used to. OpenToonz, despite being a great open source piece of software, is also known to have a few bug issues that I’d rather not run the risk of. So, I decided to stick to good ol’ Photoshop, which I have used before in a couple previous animation projects.

Photoshop has expanded to become a versatile toolbag for not only photoediting, but also digital art and even animating. At the end of the day however, it’s still primarily a static arts program with a rather cumbersome pipeline for animation. After extensive research, I found a plug for Photoshop called AnimDessin2 that seems to promise everything I’m looking for. I haven’t really tried it out yet, but I’ve downloaded it and am excited to get started!

--

--

Julie Huang
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019

Technology enthusiast, creator of art, teller of stories. In other words, just a huge nerd.