Week 2: Characters and RPG Maker

Steven Fano
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019
1 min readFeb 13, 2019

Making my main character move was a long process of making sure the movement was fluid and simple, in all four directions, along with a static position for all four directions. It is easy to just change the head of the neutral character to make them male or female. It is simpler and easier to do than make completely new sprites. Making the sprites would be easier by not changing the bodies too much. I just made the body in a huge coat to keep the body simpler. While I did not finish all of he directions of the male and female characters, I did do the neutral character as well.

As for RPG Maker, a professor suggested I should use that instead of Unity because of my low understanding of the language C++. I have yet to get the software, because I cannot properly download the app on my laptop. But I have a friend who has a friend who knows a bit about RPG Maker and he will help me get into contact with her. I hope to learn about RPG Maker this week and do more sprite art, perhaps the background objects and non-playable characters (NPCs).

--

--