Weekly Reflection 11

Miranda DiGregorio
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019
2 min readMay 1, 2019

We’re finally in the final stretch and I’m really proud of where I have come. While there isn’t much more I need to do for the showcase, I am still working day by day, making my project the best it can be. Within the past week, I finalized the demo piece from where I left it at the beginning of the semester. I put off adding the final touches to the piece because they were mainly minor things that did not affect the animation. However, I finally had the chance to go back and put EQ and reverb to the piece. It sounds so much more professional and put together with those last touches. I was already so pleased with the piece before, but comparing the original to the mastered version definitely shows the difference in quality.

In addition to the finalized version of the audio, I merged together the bits of code I had for the real-time animation. It will be working as a functional prototype, rather than a finished project. It basically shows that “This sort of project IS possible and here’s what I was able to accomplish. But with infinite time and money, it would go through multiple iterations and redesigns.” There are still some issues with the Y-position placement of each MIDI trigger, but I am working to fix it.

Aside from technical progress/final touches on my project, I have been putting together research for a slideshow presentation that will be on a loop during the showcase. I collected ways that previous visual music artists accomplished their work and how those works influenced my project. Only another week left, and I am extremely excited to show everyone what I was able to accomplish.

--

--

Miranda DiGregorio
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019

Undergraduate at The College of New Jersey, Interactive Multimedia Major and Music Minor