Weekly Reflection 2/27–3/6

Abby Boriotti
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019
1 min readMar 26, 2019

This week was very challenging. It had a strong start, but got progressively bleak as it went on. I had all my 3D models for the game blocked out, but I couldn’t detail them in the program I was using (Maya). I ended up having to change my plans for the week instead of wasting a week doing nothing.

I instead decided to do some texture work for the objects in my game. I had a wide variety of them so I needed to work efficiently if I wanted them to look nice. I went with a more stylized tone for the textures. This meant that for all the procedurally generated textures I had to make them blockier and more colorful than I usually do. This was a fun challenge to myself and I learned a lot about Substance Designer (one of the programs I’m using to texture) in the process.

Unfortunately since I can’t detail my models yet I can’t make custom textures for those objects that are more unique (flowers, books, pillows, etc.). I’ll have to figure this out for the following weeks.

--

--