Weekly Reflection 5

Miranda DiGregorio
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019
2 min readMar 6, 2019

This week, I spent some time working on the interactive section of the project. Specifically, I did some research on different animation software to use for the project. Rather than focusing on some higher end animation programs that are sophisticated and can do complex things, I decided to look towards mid-range programs, which can accomplish a lot visually but may not be as complex. After I met with Dr. Nakra for this week, she suggested that I make a chart of the pros, cons, MIDI capabilities, and visual aesthetics of every program I have considered. I have made my decision on the software I will use, which incorporates MIDI input from Max and visual/audio output from Processing. Again, I need to document the research I have made to back up my decision, which I will post next week.

In addition to this decision among animation programs, I also made a system diagram showing the link between the inputs and outputs within my computer. I plan on reworking this diagram in the future to look more sophisticated and show arrows between the programs.

System diagram for interactive part of my Visual Music Project

For audio, I fixed the tempo issue within logic, so I am working at a comfortable tempo of 120 in F major at the moment. I also composed a bit more material in the A section. While I did not finish the A section this week, it is almost complete and I plan to get the East-West samples by the end of the week.

--

--

Miranda DiGregorio
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019

Undergraduate at The College of New Jersey, Interactive Multimedia Major and Music Minor