Weekly Reflection 6

Miranda DiGregorio
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019
1 min readMar 13, 2019

I made some very ambitious goals for this week to get ahead of the game before April. Thankfully, I finished the majority of what I wanted to get done! I’m almost finished recording the composition and I only have two sections left to compose. After that, it will mainly just be about mixing and mastering, then I will be able to animate it. As for the interactive part using Processing, I finally figured out how to get a MIDI note to play when I press a key on my MIDI keyboard. I only solved this problem recently, so I haven’t been able to do much else in Processing. However, the console does read out the pitch, velocity, channel number, and parameters that can be controlled on my keyboard. For next week, I’m going to work on triggering visuals with a keypress on the keyboard and mapping the rectangles to where they should be.

In addition to working on the project, Dr. Nakra also helped me keep myself more organized. She suggested that I make a spreadsheet of all the programs that I considered using and why I went with Processing. Some programs are considered industry standard and can do complex things. However, my project doesn’t necessarily need to look “complex,” it needs to be user-friendly. Processing has many capabilities and also allows for real-time audio and MIDI inputs, along with real-time animation.

--

--

Miranda DiGregorio
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019

Undergraduate at The College of New Jersey, Interactive Multimedia Major and Music Minor