Weekly Reflection 7

Miranda DiGregorio
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019
2 min readApr 3, 2019

Since the composition is nearly complete, minus reverb and EQ, I was able to work on the animation for the past two weeks. Four of the eight instruments are animated with the opacity relating to their dynamic level. Once all of the instruments are completely animated, I will then fix the timing of certain parts and making some aesthetically based visuals in the background. In terms of the fixed animation, I feel confident in my ability to complete this project within the next coming weeks and showcase my talent with music, visuals, and learning. However, I noticed that the interactive part of the project hasn’t been making too much progress and I was beginning to get worried about the quality of that part of the project and whether I will finish it in time. This is when I decided to refine the interactivity segment of my project to better suit the scope of this semester.

While I plan to keep the demo the same, the interactive part done through Processing will function more as a “first demo” of sorts, rather than as a final product. This way, the audience can see what the potential my project would have in the future, given the work I put into the demo and making the prototype. I was able to figure out how to get MIDI keys to trigger visuals, with the help of some source code posted online. There are some scaling issues that I need to sort out, along with changing the color of each rectangle, but the pitches are being output and each MIDI key triggers a rectangle. With the feedback and advisement I receive from Dr. Nakra and my own personal achievements within the next few weeks, I will be sure to update with pictures and videos of my project and continue on my path to success.

--

--

Miranda DiGregorio
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019

Undergraduate at The College of New Jersey, Interactive Multimedia Major and Music Minor