Weekly Reflection 9

Miranda DiGregorio
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019
2 min readApr 17, 2019

The base animation for my project is officially finished, with some minor adjustments that need to be added. I’m planning the next steps for my project, which are more towards debugging the interactive part of my project and fixing minor timing issues in the demo. In my base animation, the rectangles animate according to pitch, instrumentation, dynamics, duration, and attack. I do want to add some aesthetic changes to the demo to spruce up the black background, but this is not my priority at the moment. I am working with IMM faculty to fix my issues with Processing, but other than that I feel pretty confident with my project from here on out. I would say that I am roughly 70–80% complete with the entire project. All that is left is adding the final EQ and reverb to the audio file, making minor adjustments to the demo, and fix the minor scaling and color issues in Processing. In addition to this, I am going to have a Powerpoint presentation of all the background research and resources I used for my project, which I will have looping on a computer screen next to my project during the showcase.

I am also in the process of going back to previous visual music examples I referred to in my project proposal and gaining inspiration for the aesthetic visuals. So far, I have been heavily researching Oskar Fischinger, as his use of basic geometry shapes in relation to melodic material is very similar to my own project. I am going to post the results of my research on basecamp, preferably by tomorrow. I will also be sure to share that research on Medium, along with other updates I made throughout the week.

--

--

Miranda DiGregorio
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019

Undergraduate at The College of New Jersey, Interactive Multimedia Major and Music Minor