Weekly Reflection Apr 3–10

Jun Del Valle
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019
2 min readApr 24, 2019

It’s a relief to finally be done with the major filming. While the filming is done now the pressure is really on. Everything now falls on me and I am able to have the freedom to work and edit at any time and anywhere. This is convenient, but also very stressful. The editing process might be more important than the actual filming so I have to make sure that I am taking my time and not rushing through anything. The main components that I am going to be working with are color, audio, and cuts. For the colors, I plan on looking back to last semester and reviewing my color prototype and notes to see exactly how I want to execute each shot. The uniqueness of my film is that it incorporates various movie genres so there will be different techniques being used.
The step is to bring in the appropriate audio to match the mood of each genre. In the past, I’ve used royalty free music from YouTube and it has worked well. Youtube provides a variety of music selections because there are so many different artist and accounts that are posting these royalty free instrumentals and music so there will be a wide selection. Music really is a tone-setter and selecting the right music will be crucial because you can give the audience the wrong impression or feeling if you choose the wrong music. You want the music to compliment the film and not completely take over or be too distracting so setting the audio gain will play a big role in the editing process.

--

--