Weekly Reflection April 17-April 24

Daniel Renna
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019
2 min readApr 23, 2019

This week, I went back and thought about the entirety of my project as it stood. Did it reflect the amount of work I have put into it? Did it achieve the goal I set out to pursue? Does it coincide with the description from the beginning of the semester as to what the project is about and what it symbolizes? While I 100% believe that my work is in great shape and that I am ready to present a fantastic and full-fledged project for the showcase, I recognized one key point I had forgotten to mention. When I originally wrote my project idea and summary, even up until mid-semester this Spring, I had neglected to mention that I felt it best to remove the component of my project dealing with my personal Tourette’s Syndrome and the idea about including some of my neurological tics within the music as an art piece. I just could not seem to do it in a way which I felt was respectful or did any justice to the cause in an effective manner. Therefore, I decided to strictly keep the project about merging exercise and music and not get too convoluted. I just felt it necessary to clear that up. I also changed the description to more accurately reflect this. It was hard enough merging the ideas for the project without trying to add in another new component about trying to simultaneously raise awareness for a disorder! Sometimes we need to dial things back a bit in life and in work!

This video which I came upon this week. while not entirely related to my work, was inspiring and encompasses my thoughts well. It deals with the idea of “simplicity as the ultimate form of sophistication,” and boy is that true! While the video itself is a bit complicated and “technical,” the message is simple (no pun intended). Clarity and simplicity are effective means of delivery, even (and especially when) dealing with complex issues.

--

--