Weekly Reflection April 23-April 30

Daniel Renna
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019
2 min readApr 30, 2019

After receiving excellent feedback from my work last week, I went into this week with a very positive attitude. I knew that the piece was “up to snuff” enough to stand on its own at this point. I took a bit of advice from my feedback sessions to make a sound at the end of my video extend longer than I had it on film. At the final moment of my piece, I exit the gym and the sound of the gym door opening is the last thing that the viewer hears. It was pointed out to me that I should not have cut the original sound out as early, because the tail end of the audio snippet contains the faint, unedited sounds of the gym (background radio, talking, etc.). The viewers I showed felt that including this noise in would be a nice way to “bring the audience back to reality.” In other words, they are taken on a sonic journey through the video experience, and the end is a nice time to ground them and exit in a meaningful manner. I thought this was excellent advice!

Additionally, this week I remastered the audio and re-referenced the mix on studio monitors. I am now 100% confident in the mix and feel comfortable for the showcase presentation. This video goes over a way to export Premiere projects with the highest possible resolution. I went back and re-exported my work following this tutorial in order to deliver the highest quality product I could! All in all, I am absolutely prepared for next Friday.

--

--