Weekly Reflection: Feb 20–27

Phillip Antwi-Buosiako
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019
2 min readFeb 27, 2019

Due to the snow day last week I was unable to meet with the professor to try to get the PC as I had planned. So instead I did some research on some more Kinect examples utilizing Processing. Most of these examples were using the Kinect V2 sensor which does not really help as the Kinect V1 is what is available to me. After finally getting it running on my PC the options seem to have opened up now I can focus on adding more elements to the sketch and try different things.

The first thing I’m looking to do is add polygons onto the screen. The polygons would be of different shapes and sizes and they will be falling down from the top of the screen to the bottom. However the tricky part is that I want them to recognize the user in the image as a solid object and collide with it instead of going through them. This is where the blob detection library is going to come in handy.

Another example I would like to run would be the Kinect Silhouette. This is where the Kinect is going to recognize the users body and add different effects to the image. Such as bubbles within the person, particles and other custom shapes. While doing research on this however, there were a lot of people running into problems but with the use of Dan Shiffman’s updated libraries, I should be able to pull it off.

--

--

Phillip Antwi-Buosiako
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019

Interactive Multimedia Major and Marketing Minor at The College of New Jersey. Focus in Music Production and Artist and Repertoire. Experimenting on Game Design