Weekly Reflection March 13-March 20

Daniel Renna
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019
2 min readMar 19, 2019

This week I was able to complete the entire full structure of my piece. I aligned the audio and video from beginning to end in Premiere and got the piece to a place where I feel like it is truly starting to look “good.” I gathered some feedback from a few viewers who also echoed the same sentiment. At this point, I need to take the alterations I made to the instrumental and bring them back into Logic to start to full mixing process. After that, I plan to bring the bounced .wav file back into Premiere and take another objective look at how everything looks from that point. Then , I need to adjust any final shots, perform final edits and color correction and then fully master the audio. The mixing process should take a bit of time to get correctly and will likely go through many iterations before I am satisfied. The full video is now just under 4 minutes which I felt from gathering user feedback to be the perfect amount of time to grasp the viewer’s attention before seeming too long or drawn out.

I found the video below this week on the topic of song structure, which I felt truly inspired my most recent instrumental adjustments. My piece has a beginning, which builds up to a dropoff “bridge” section, and then comes back full force in the end while introducing the instruments in a slightly different way if one listens closely. Initially this buildup was hard to achieve, because I needed it to really “pop.” This YouTube video helped me to gather my thoughts and approach things logically. Structuring my instrumentals has always been something difficult for me to do.

--

--