Weekly Reflection Apr 17–24

Jun Del Valle
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019
2 min readMay 14, 2019

This was a very exciting week for me because I was finally able to use the program that will transform my short film into a interactive short film. The purpose of doing a short film was to create an experience that is interactive to the viewers. The program that I am talking about is “Adobe Captivate”. The purpose of Adobe Captivate is to be used as a learning tool. After watching many different videos of all that Adobe Captivate has to offer I felt that I would be able to use it for the purposes that I had envisioned. The tools and options that were made available through this platform proved to be exactly what I needed.

Using this program for the first time I had to test out many different functions and options to see how my project would work best. In order to effectively test this out I imported some old mp4’s just to see if it would work. When on the initial workspace it is very reminiscent of PowerPoint or even Google Slides. The plan is to import all of my clips to separate slides. Since my film is interactive there are multiple clips that need to be separated as opposed to one long video clip. One of the options are these interactive button and the user is able to choose what type of actions the button will preform based on the actions you set for it.

The actions that I chose to select was a action that says “Jump to Slide #…”. When that action is set when you select the button it will then jump right to the slide number that you choose for that specific button. This function did exactly what I needed and it began the video clips seamlessly. One of the goals of this project is to create a film that flows smoothly so that the viewer feels as though they’re watching one singular film rather then multiple video clips. It seems that I will be able to do this via these settings and this platform.

--

--