Weekly Reflection Feb 13–20

Phillip Antwi-Buosiako
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019
2 min readFeb 26, 2019

After trying time and again to run the code I found online for the Kinect on mac, I kept running into the same problems I did the week before. So eventually I decided to switch platforms and move it to the PC. I went online and looked up the differences and in the end the only difference I found was that on the PC you have to download Kinect SDK from the Microsoft website in order for the PC to recognize the device when it’s plugged in.

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=44561

So I downloaded that onto my PC as well as the files I used for the example on mac including Processing 3 for the PC. I then copied the first sketch as a trial to my PC and added the appropriate libraries including simpleOpenNi and BlobDetection. Then finally I ran the sketch on the PC and just like professor Kuiphoff suggested, I got image feedback from the camera.

Although this was a huge accomplishment, I decided to move on to the next part and try out the rest of the sketches but when I ran the second sketch, it proved to be too much for my 32 bit laptop and the drivers could not process it. After running into this problem I decided to see if I could borrow a PC from the equipment cage so I can try to run the example again.

--

--

Phillip Antwi-Buosiako
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019

Interactive Multimedia Major and Marketing Minor at The College of New Jersey. Focus in Music Production and Artist and Repertoire. Experimenting on Game Design