Weekly Reflection Mar 13–20

Jun Del Valle
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019
2 min readMar 27, 2019

This week was difficult because the plan to record didn’t happen. I was tough having to wait another week in order to record, but there were some positives to come from it though. I was able to refocus on the details on what I wanted to record. The time spent was re-evaluating the overall story and seeing areas that were weak and trying to fill in some holes that didn’t quite make sense. One thing that I would like to incorporate is using easter eggs throughout the film. My goal is that each person who comes to the showcase will watch my film two times in order to see both outcomes. Incorporating easter eggs will be fun for not only the viewer, but also for myself. It would be great to hear the viewers saying “ohhh” because an answer to the story was in front of their face the whole time and in order for them to know that then they would need to watch the film multiple times.

One television show that I really enjoyed watching was the series “How I Met Your Mother”. Throughout the show the viewer was trying to find out who the the main character “Ted” would marry. There would be so many different easter eggs leading up to the big reveal and the viewers began to learn more and more about what the mother was like, what were her hobbies, and what she would potential look like. The interesting thing was some of the easter eggs were used to mislead the viewer and completely throw them off while other clues were used to hint at who this mystery character was. The biggest easter egg was a “yellow umbrella” this umbrella was shown toward the beginning of the series and it played such a big part of the entire show. Something that would otherwise seem so meaningless actually brought a lot of meaning to the show and the completion of the show. I hope that I can successful incorporate some clues and easter eggs to really add value and wonder to the overall project.

--

--