Weekly Reflection Mar 20–27

Jun Del Valle
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019
2 min readMar 27, 2019

Now this was the much anticipated week for this project. We were finally able to get the entire team together and we recorded “Phase 1” of the film. Saturday was the day that we came together and and it was full of nerves, but more so excitement. My film is broken up into 4 phases and this method has served me very well. I am able to have a clear and precise filming schedule and can stay organized to all of the recording so deadlines are easier to be meet. We had a lot of fun recording on Saturday and I felt very prepared and organized and really was able to finish in a timely manner. I’m learning how to take charge of a set and get everyone on track and focused on the task at hand because when working with friends you can be easily distracted, but luckily everyone worked well together and I was happy with the outcome of “Phase 1”.

In the article “Secrets of making a great film” the author states “Another thing is rhythm, and that is God. Without rhythm, you can’t do music, you cannot write, you cannot do architecture; without rhythm, you are a miserable loser. Writers can have great technique, great ideas, but there’s something about rhythm that is impossible to teach”. I felt like during the first filming session we really found our rhythm and it really helped the team to see how fun and important this film is and the way that we all came together and executed was incredible and really impressed me. Like the author is eluding to I feel that rhythm is something that just comes naturally when in the right environment and I do understand that nothing will be perfect and something is bound to go wrong, but it was refreshing to have a week like this week after having consecutive frustrating ones.

--

--