Advice and the Future

Alexandra Lerman
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020
1 min readMay 19, 2020

If there’s any advice I can give to a future IMM senior, just pick your project based on something you love. Originally, I was going to do a project on game design, and I wasn’t nearly as motivated as I am about casting. I am so glad I changed my project, because I became incredibly more passionate about working on my project and showing it to as many people as possible.

In fact, my project became a bonding topic for me and my fellow co-commentators. I was very glad to be able to gain the opportunity to work with them, and I want to thank them for giving me the motivation to get me going.

Always take any feedback you get, it’s so important to have an open mind when doing these kinds of things. I want to be able to grow as much as possible, and I love having people enjoy my work.

Try to plan as far ahead as possible, which can be hard as a procrastinating, senioritis-ruled student, but please try. Don’t leave things to the end. I feel like I hear that advice on repeat, but never listen to it.

Regardless, don’t be afraid to reach out for help if you need it. People want you to succeed, especially in the amazing IMM program. They know more than I do about helping people grow into more holistic and amazing individuals.

It’s been great, it’s been fun.

Thank you, sincerely.

--

--