Attack Of The “Block”

Christopher McDowell
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020
2 min readApr 22, 2020

When I said that I was making some progress on work, I have to be honest and come clean. So far things have come to sort of a halt in recent time not only due to the unrelenting acceleration of the dreaded COVID-19, but simply because my ideas have run short. In the process of making my digital comic, I have run into an issue where several boxes have been left unfilled. Is this because my interest in finishing this project has slowly dwindled or is because of extreme levels of stress? The answer to that question so far will be unknown, because even I cant really tell you what i am thinking.

Writers blocks, or any other block for that matter, are more often then most think, and can occur at the worst moments in life when crafting a creative piece of work. This isn’t the first time I have ever dealt with a block of this caliber, but when it is impeding on my ability to complete a project due in a month, the pressure starts to build immensely. I can’t think of a single time where in i had one that was this bad, because when I originally started to make comic books on my spare time, I would always have an idea of what ca,e next. The ambition of what I am writing is one thing, and actually visualizing the scenes in a panel is part of a bigger challenge I didn’t fully anticipate.

On the brighter side of this whole ordeal, It will challenge my ability to work under pressure levels I haven’t reached before and how well I will be able to manage myself in extreme conditions. Part of the journey is establishing a goal, and with that goal comes a pathway of obtaining it. It will be a long and difficult road to traverse upon, but it will be one that is filled with knowledge, wisdom, and most importantly, growth. It will not be just growth in terms of personality, ability to work, o time management, but it will be a growth of creative thinking and imagination that will challenge my ability to actually see my ideas become a reality.

--

--

Christopher McDowell
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020

I’m just a 25-year-old graphic artist who is interested in the world of illustration