Countdown to King Project Update — February 12th-18th

Luke Snyder
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020
2 min readFeb 19, 2020

On the 16th, TCNJ Lions Gaming hosted a charity livestream event, Queen. For this event I finally managed to rent a DSLR camera from the AIMM Cage for this project. The camera I used was the Canon EOS 60D, which allowed me to take high quality video footage. Unfortunately, I could not rent a tripod because I also needed to carry a lighting kit for the Lions Gaming Production Committee (which was already very heavy). Because of this, some of the footage I shot, including an interview, was shakier than I would like and I might need to shoot the interview again.

For Queen I was very busy making a trailer for a new tournament series that was announced at the event, Japes. This is a biweekly series that will run alternating with our other free biweekly, Stronghold: The Siege. Since we now have two biweekly tournaments, I will have a lot more footage that I can shoot, so this is perfect for my project.

As the tone of the project and the footage I am shooting shifts, I am considering changing the name of the documentary from “Countdown to King” to something more fitting, because it is likely that the footage will not be shown in chronological order anymore and it will not focus on King 2020. I still have the interview I shot with the freshman for the very first Lions Gaming general meeting, so I might give King its own section at the end of the documentary with that interview as the intro.

In the coming weeks I will need to start putting together some rough edits. Since I shot multiple hours of footage at Queen, I believe I have enough to start trying out some ideas for stories I want to tell and players I want to showcase. I also want to do an entire section on Queen and include footage from the top 8 of Super Smash Bros. Ultimate singles. All of the matches were best of five, so I have a lot of material to work with.

--

--

Luke Snyder
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020

Streamer, video editor, lover of video games and electronic music. Writing about any random topics that fill my ADHD brain.