Dealing With Criticism

Gianna Pulitano
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020
4 min readApr 8, 2020
Two cartoon people communicating through a black scribble.

When it comes to the world of design, it can become easy to become attached to your work. You have a vision, you bring it to life, and now someone else is suggesting that maybe there’s a more efficient way to tell your story. Throughout various senior classes and work on my thesis project, Run Dry, I have received a wide range of critiques and feedback from a number of diverse professionals. I found myself caught in a cycle that many others may be able to relate to. Upon receiving positive critiques, I felt as if I was on top of the world. I was reassured that my project was representing my passion and work ethic. On the other hand, whenever I was challenged with negative feedback, whether that be a bad grade, comments on my projects, proof reads on my scripts, etc., I would become defensive and run from my work. All of the positive words would become lost in a single number or sentence that I felt suddenly defined all of my life’s work. Feeling a fear towards negative critiques is exhausting and has the power to jeopardize your future work. After a series of trial and errors, I have found a few healthy ways to turn that fear into ambition.

Face the critique head on

Starting my college career, bad grades caused me to shut down. I had always been the type of student to apply 100% to my work and when my grades did not reflect my efforts, I was disappointed. I would look over my professor’s feedback and rather than appreciate the suggestions and pull out new ideas, I would be too paralyzed by the “failure” and just scrap the project entirely. What could have been worked into something really great turned out to be a lost idea because I could not handle the concept of reworking a project I had been so tied to.

It is vital to face a critique head on. Read through the comments, the notes, listen to what the person is saying and really take it in. Sort out what you find constructive from the feedback and allow it to take your project to the next level. Remember that you don’t have to listen to every single critique a person has to offer but, you do need to be able to support every decision you make with a reason why. Any negative critiques you can’t explain or answer for should be used as something to build upon.

Ask questions

Once you have recorded all of your negative critiques, it’s time to start asking questions. Sometimes you simply don’t know what you don’t know. Talk to the person offering you suggestions and make sure you understand what they mean and where their advice is coming from. This is the part of the process where you usually realize the asset of hearing additional perspectives and is a great opportunity to learn something new. Feedback offers growth through collaboration. Ask questions that will lead you to find out how you can avoid making similar mistakes in the future.

Be Flexible

Flexibility has definitely been my own greatest challenge when it comes to Run Dry. When I completed my first design sketch at the beginning of the school year, I knew I would have a couple renditions of the project but, I never could have imagined just how much would need to be reworked. Pulling out of a mixed bag of unseen global pandemics, budget cuts, and lack of resources, Run Dry has transformed into a much different project than when I first started planning my thesis.

You have to know when it’s time to let go of the old, and adapt. Understand that you can’t plan for everything. When someone advises you to start your project over from square one, it’s likely because they know your true potential and want you to convey your message in the most compelling way possible to your audience. Rather than focusing on all of the work you have already put into the project, focus on your goal. Ask yourself, “Who is this for?” Those are the people you want to connect with your work. The process is important for you to learn and develop your skills but the final product is what your audience sees and feels.

Reach out

Reach out to as many people as possible. Getting a varied group of opinions will give you the opportunity to hear several different ideas. The more you listen to others, the more you are led towards figuring out exactly what you want your project to look like and why you decided on that look.

This is also a chance to network and develop skills from people who are already working on projects that have inspired you.

Don’t take it personally

Remember, negative feedback is directed towards your work, not you. The purpose here is not to make you feel bad about yourself. Negative critiques are meant to explain how your project can achieve its goals in the best way possible.

Take a breath, don’t get defensive, don’t look to place blame, don’t pull out excuses. Take this opportunity and start to plan where you can go with the advice you now have.

Keep in mind, this is all a work in progress. It’s okay to be upset when you receive negative critiques as long as you never forget the mission of trying to better yourself. These skills take years to develop, but when they do, you will realize that negative feedback is the best tool for self-growth. Allow yourself to become the best version of yourself.

*The photo used in this publication is property of Lab Manager.*

--

--

Gianna Pulitano
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020

T1 diabetic, storyteller, maker, dreamer, and a whole bunch of other things. A collection of lessons I’ve picked up over the years.