Good and Bad News

Alexandra Lerman
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020
1 min readApr 22, 2020

Yesterday, my boss and I had a conversation about the next couple of months.

As I’ve mentioned before, a lot of my casting had to be rescheduled and pushed way into the future because of this virus situation. However, I was given the news yesterday that my team would be picking up some work during what would have been our in-person/studio tournament. Not only that, but we would also be given a chance to work with the full-time casters, which has literally been my dream.

I expressed that I was slightly nervous, as my boss told us we wouldn’t have any practice with new production and partners. He was very confident in my ability, and felt like I would fit in very well in this new environment. Not only that, but I actually have a very good relationship to all of the full-time chair ones, so at least we would have some synergy going into it.

However, when I asked my boss about my future as a caster within the company, he didn’t have any news. I guess that means it’s not bad news per se, especially because he believes in me and sees my potential. It still sucks to hear that you might not be able to get your dream job, despite everything looking green that’s within your control.

I’m still hoping that I can somehow find my way into HiRez after graduation, but I am worried I will have to find additional sources of income to support that dream for the future.

--

--