Good Things Come in Two

This past week, I decided to take a new direction with my thesis. I understand there’s only 2 months left, but the skills I’ve acquired within the past 7 have allowed me to do this so far in. I’m teaming up with another student, Mistee, to make a visual remastered vaporwave mashup. I’ll be the one creating the visuals, as I’ve done so far, in Adobe After Effects. Mistee will be creating remasters of select vaporwave songs. While she works on her music, I’ll be making the visuals so neither of us are held up in production.

Over the week, we decided the video will be about 10 minutes long. There will be several different visuals, and song mashups to go with it, and it will ultimately be rendered in Adobe Premiere Pro. Then, this video will be shown on a projector screen somewhere in the AIMM building.

To make the visuals more consistent, I’ve been researching video tutorials that I can use to make the project even better. I’ve also been looking at the songs as well to gain a better understanding of how I should approach this task of making a video in tune with the music.

Allowing us to work together was the final push we both needed to make something magical. I wish we could’ve figured this out sooner than later, but it isn’t like I’m completely starting anew with the project. Instead, I’m just gaining a better resource to make something even better.

--

--

Danielle Wietrzychowski
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020

IMM student at The College of New Jersey, aspiring game designer and project manager.