How Long Will it Take Me to Adapt?

Jonah M.
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020
2 min readApr 8, 2020

It’s hard to focus on a thesis project while dealing with emotional issues. The COVID-19 pandemic stripped me of all my resources. I no longer have a place to work, I don’t even have a stable place to live. I recently found out that my job was no longer deemed “essential” by the school and I am unable to work from home now. I’ve been struggling with staying motivated and focused on my schoolwork, not having the academic environment makes this even harder for me. I also went through a breakup.

It feels like all of my physical and psychological needs have been taken from me all at once. Everything in my life that created a stable foundation has been ripped out from underneath my feet at the same time. Two weeks ago I was at the height of my life. I finally had a free environment to record, I had the most healthy and productive schedule I’ve ever had in my life, and I was surrounded by awesome relationships. Now I have none of that.

I am upset I have not been able to adapt. I still feel as crushed as I was when everything first started to slip away from me. I feel like I’ve been avoiding schoolwork. Instead I’ve been trying to find distractions. Finding ways to spend my days without thinking about how upset and crushed I am has taken priority over schoolwork. How am I supposed to work on my thesis when I’m struggling to do the bare minimum assignments I’m supposed to be doing for my other classes?

Everything hit me too hard. I won’t have the awesome thesis I planned by the end of the semester. How long will it take me to adapt to these circumstances?

--

--

Jonah M.
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020

Senior Interactive Multimedia major with minors in marketing and music.