How will COVID-19 affect my recording workflow?

Jonah M.
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020
2 min readMar 10, 2020

I was working on campus when I got the email from TCNJ administration saying that all class would be moved to online for the two weeks following spring break. This is huge news for the College, everyone has been waiting for a response from the administration since Princeton, Rowan, and Rutgers have all either closed campus or extended their spring breaks due to concerns about the corona virus.

As I walked from Green Hall to the Student Center to quickly grab lunch, every student I could see was on their phone. Everyone was reading the email, texting their friends about the email, or frantically calling their friends/family to make accommodations for the extended spring break. With all the commotion going on, it made me wonder how these precautions would affect my day to day work schedule for my thesis project.

Having a set schedule is important to me. Having classes and work everyday gets me out of bed relatively early. Making all of my classes online will hurt my motivation to be productive and get work done.

I’m going to have to find ways to get out of the house. Being stuck in my small room makes me tired and lethargic. I will need to plan times to go out to coffee shops or the library to do my classwork.

The good thing about online only classes is that it will give me more time to work on my thesis in the AIMM building. It has been hard for me to find big blocks of time to record in the studio except for late at night. This will give me more opportunities during the day to get some recording done when I have more energy.

If I can manage my time and find different spaces outside of my house to be productive, I should be setting myself up for success.

--

--

Jonah M.
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020

Senior Interactive Multimedia major with minors in marketing and music.