Iconic

Alexandra Lerman
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020
2 min readMar 11, 2020

This weekend was incredibly eventful in my casting sphere. Firstly, Saturday was another amateur league broadcast with Justin “JMac” McClanahan, my commentary partner for the North American side of the league. It was relatively uneventful, but I am always pleased to get more reps in.

Sunday is when the real action happened: PamJam 2020. This tournament involved a number of high level and professional teams competing for a $2000 prizepool. I was lucky enough to both participate as a player and cast after my team lost.

The first set I hopped in for were the semifinals of the tournament, which I was joined by Graham “Hinduman” Hadfield, my boss and long-time professional league commentator. We had a blast and experienced such hype moments together, despite it being our first cast. These Sunday casts were more relaxed, but I still did my best to hold my own and really embrace the experience.

After the semifinals, the two of us were tasked with casting the 3rd place match, but Graham had to step out for a bit. As such, I took it upon myself to find a replacement caster on the fly, to which I found Bart “Bort” Koenigsberg. Bart was a caster several years ago, but left the position to pursue other ventures within Smite and beyond. He is currently in a brand manager-like position, if I am not mistaken.

The 3rd place match went super well, despite Bart not having casted for such a long time. Finally, we got to the finals and we actually had Thom “Fdot” Badinger hop on to do a tricast, which is incredibly unusual in professional casting. Despite that fact, it was incredible to be casting alongside two extraordinary icons to the Smite casting scene.

All in all, this tournament was an incredible experience: I got to get some reps in, cast some high level games, and grow synergy with incredibly notorious and important members of the Smite esports scene. I highly recommend checking out some clips of the event.

--

--