IMM Thesis — Weekly Reflection 1

Jonah M.
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020
1 min readFeb 5, 2020

Winter break gave me time to work on my project and redefine the purpose and goals of my thesis.

We decided to release this project under Cheyenne Dan, a band that I’ve been a part of for the past year. Because I’m releasing it with an existing project that already has some online traction, I decided to raise the quality of production. This has led to a few setbacks.

I was hoping to have an entire album fully recorded over break. Unfortunately I was unable to do this, although I am not discouraged. The reason I was unable to deliver was because I increased the scope of the recording and production. I decided to add a live drummer to most of the songs which requires working with another musician to get them to learn the songs, as well as scheduling studio time because I cannot record live drums in my room. Our recording date right now is February 17th. I expect to have the album recorded at the end of February and mixed and mastered early March.

While I’m waiting for the drums to be recorded, I need to figure out things I can do to advance my project that do not involve actually recording/mixing. I need to take a step back from the audio production and get the videos/promotion going. This has been hard for me because working on the music is the thing I’m most passionate about.

--

--

Jonah M.
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020

Senior Interactive Multimedia major with minors in marketing and music.