IMQ/Coronavirus: Distance-Working on Digital Quilt

Robin Friedman
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020
1 min readMar 24, 2020

Amid the coronavirus pandemic, I have faced disruptions and unexpected challenges to my everyday life. I am privileged to be able to say that I am housing- and food-secure, but unfortunately I won’t be going back to campus at The College of New Jersey except to finishing packing up my things and move out.

Over spring break, I took a much needed break. My hope is that now that I am working from home in a literal sense, that my work-life balance will improve. People would ask me what I do for fun in my free time, and I asked them back, “What’s ‘free time’?”

Fortunately, the conclusion of spring break meant a return to some semblance of structure. My classes are meeting online now, generally during their previously scheduled time, and my students from the Tutoring Center will continue to meet with me at our regularly scheduled times.

I made some improvements to www.robinfriedman.me during the spring break. This is my portfolio website! I am still working to beef it up with projects I have worked on in school, particularly coding-heavy projects. (Scanning images is much easier than converting code…)

I am strongly considering hosting the Identity Multimedia Quilt on www.robinfriedman.me, so cleaning the website up just made sense to me.

My next step towards my thesis is to contact the additional potential contributors that signed up through a form I shared in queer social groups. I will also let them know of my [updated] deadline for submission, April 8th.

--

--

Robin Friedman
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020

Appian software developer @Infosys, Class of 2020 IMM @TCNJ. I design, code, create, relate. Email me! Friedmr5@tcnj.edu