IMQ: Spreading the Word

Robin Friedman
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020
2 min readMar 11, 2020

As I shared last week, my goal was to contact a lot of people about the Identity Multimedia Quilt. This I did! I started the week with 1 response on my “please contact me about this” form, and as of this morning, there are 12 responses!

Half of respondents are sure they would like to submit something. This is in addition to students I have recruited through TCNJ student organizations like Lions Eye. Five others would like more information before they make a decision.

I’m thrilled to be finding people who want to contribute to this collaborative arts project. I look forward to contacting LGBTQIA+ groups on other campuses, in corporations, and others in my friends’ expanded networks.

Right now, the focus is on curating the multimedia content. I have two contributors who have shown me their work so far, and these are both text-based (personal essay and poetry). I’m hoping that by recruiting people in my own major (interactive multimedia), I’ll find people who will bring more visual and audio elements to the Quilt.

I’m even wondering about adding small HTML-based creative coding projects such as those made in p5.js, a Processing-in-JavaScript library.

Is there a singular “queer experience”? Or is the story a little more nuanced than that?

My name is Robin Friedman, and I’m the curator of The Identity Multimedia Quilt — or IMQ. It’s a digital collaborative art project, an interactive patchwork collection of LGBTQIA+ people’s stories told through multimedia.

The IMQ seeks to boost the diverse voices of people who share LGBTQIA+ identities — including those who may disidentify with “the community.”

If you or someone you know may be interested in contributing to the Identity Multimedia Quilt, please fill out this brief form*! I’ll follow up with you directly with more information.

*For non-US/Canada contributors, please provide an email not mobile number.

--

--

Robin Friedman
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020

Appian software developer @Infosys, Class of 2020 IMM @TCNJ. I design, code, create, relate. Email me! Friedmr5@tcnj.edu