This week I made 2 minutes of original music to use in my thesis demonstrations. It is at 175 BPM because that is the same speed as Celldweller — The Imperial March (Pegboard Nerds Remix) that I put in last week’s reflection. I think this speed fun and allows me to comfortably improvise. When making this song, I am making sure to focus on the non-percussive elements of the song and keep a simple drum beat throughout the composition. This is so that when I play along to it, I can easily add my playing, create my own drum patterns and beats, and improvise without having to follow any complicated drum patterns that the song needs to sound good.

I then tested Vochlea’s Dubler Studio Kit trying its trigger, pitch, and MIDI mapping features. The trigger feature allows one to beatbox to trigger MIDI signals and the pitch setting makes it so when can sing different notes corresponding with MIDI notes. Next, I tried mapping vowel sounds to Zwobot macro controls resulting in being to control three different groups of video effects with my voice one for each of the available vowel sounds being a, e, and o. From this development, I can now drum and change video effects at the same time. I now plan to map notes sent via the trigger setting to triggering different videos.

--

--

Kenny Lepping
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020

Creative Technologist working in digital audio and software development