Isolation, Before and After

So these past two weeks have been… Interesting. Mostly because my twin sister came back from Portugal last Thursday (she’s completely fine), and therefore myself and the whole family needed to be isolated for two weeks into our home. It was quite an experience, learning the fates of my school, work, and other events, along with my friends as well. I can’t say I’m extremely upset, because I’ve been mentally preparing for the worst.

And so, of course, the worst has happened. My workplace kicked everyone out, forcing me to work home indefinitely, as a part-time worker, with constant online meetings, new ways to do work, constant problems arising, and on top of that, starting to settle into the new norm that will be online classes this week.

I understand I won’t see my friends for quite a while as a graduating senior, since the thesis showcase is likely cancelled, and graduation will soon follow suit. Also with everyone needing to move out and stay isolated, it’s starting to get more real, so to speak. However, I am trying not to be too upset myself. I’m making attempts to be more positive to myself and everyone else who’s suffering from this whole ordeal, by talking to people online, through calls, etc. I know this won’t last forever, but it’s important that we all try to stay positive through something like this, while staying informed. I will do my best to ease into the new norms, and continue my work, so we can go back to our old selves.

--

--

Danielle Wietrzychowski
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020

IMM student at The College of New Jersey, aspiring game designer and project manager.