Medium Post Update 2

Chad Mathern
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020
1 min readApr 14, 2020

This week I worked on revamping the movement system to make it more snappy and responsive. I briefly tried a physics based movement scheme but found it was very sluggish. I opted to continue using the character controller and just implement gravity manually. I researched that the character controller is better at handling slopes, inclines and stairs which is just another reason to use it as my project will include inclined surfaces. Jumping now looks better as I have disabled the view bobbing while the character is not grounded. Additionally, I revamped my prototype weapon switching system and even made it compatible with the scroll wheel of a mouse, not just number keys. It now uses indexing to sort through weapons as children of an object attached to the main camera and actually deactivates them instead of simply derendering their models. The scripting for the weapons is still contained within each weapon respectively. Next, I plan to finish all weapon scripts, as well as add sprinting and sliding. Depending on of far I get I may begin looking into wall running.

--

--