Interactive Musical Video System: Kenny Lepping’s Thesis Summary

Kenny Lepping
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020
2 min readDec 6, 2019

My project is an interactive video system where one can manipulate and trigger videos live using electronic instruments. Instruments I will be using include an electronic drum kit, a sampling pad called the SPD-SX (has 9 individual surfaces that when hit, send a MIDI signal), and possibly a two-octave keyboard. This system will be set up so one can create music and visual performances improvising with or without a rehearsed set. Parameters of videos I will be manipulating include various effects and filters. Many past experiences have led me to create this project such as being a drummer, learning music production skills, and learning how to use tools in VFX software to sync visuals to music. Performances like that of Michael Schack’s, TheSushiDragon’s, AFISHAL’s, and Mr Bill’s inspired me to bring music visualization to live settings. Once I started using programs like Ableton Live, Max for Live, and OBS that allow this to be possible, I was confident that I can put together my own live electronic performances and demonstrations with visual synchronization. For the future, I plan to perform live using this interactive video and music system as a physically live performance and through live streaming in more controlled environments. Most live music performances that include visuals may have video loops playing in the background that are not synced to anything, synced to pre-made music, or synced just to the beat of the song. My idea expands upon this concept by making it so one can interact with video effects performing their instruments, while also being able to trigger videos and images. In addition, these video effects become layered if more than one is triggered at a time so performances that are improvised create visually compelling and unique performances.

--

--

Kenny Lepping
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020

Creative Technologist working in digital audio and software development