New Faces, New Ideas

Alexandra Lerman
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020
2 min readApr 29, 2020

It seems like my team of amateur casters has been together for years, but unfortunately we are losing one of our members. Chris, the second chair 1 of the group, enlisted in the military and will be leaving for basic training come Friday. As such, we’re going to need to find a replacement.

With our big Challenger Circuit event coming up next Thursday through Sunday, we’re going to have a big hole in our group. I hope that means I will get more time to practice my casting, but more realistically, that means the other chair 1, my partner, Justin, is going to be the one with more time in the sun.

Even still, I’m super excited to get a chance to cast with some of my icons. I’ve casted with two of the three possible full-time chair 1s before, so I’m hoping I get to have experience with all 3 of them. However, it’s super unlikely that’ll happen, as the third is pretty new to Smite, and it would be somewhat silly to put two greenhorns together.

When it comes to my project, I’m finally putting together the infrastructure of my video. I want it to be roughly 5–6 minutes long and split into 3 sections:

  1. What is casting?
  2. Casting dos and don’ts
  3. Reel

As such, I’m collecting clips and sorting them into those categories. The only thing left to really do is put the thing together. I’m also wondering if it would be a good idea to include casting from people other than myself, as it might be beneficial to listen to a variety of styles, especially as an introduction.

Of course, the reel portion would be all me, but I would love to feature some of my associates’ work.

--

--