Quarantined Progression

Alec Goss
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020
4 min readMar 24, 2020

Well, the global situation we have all found ourselves in is definitely not something any of us expected — especially while trying to complete a thesis project.

With our Senior Showcase up in the air about just how we’re going to present our projects to the world, it goes without saying I feel a bit deflated. As we all know, practicing social distancing and isolation is the only way to combat this virus, directly impacting my own as well as some of my peers’ ideas for a final demonstration. While feeling a bit discouraged, we as a senior class cannot let this get in the way of our visions. This is all simply out of our control, so we must keep moving forward.

Keeping this all in mind, after a much needed mental break over our quarantined spring break, I’ve begun hammering away again at my Arduino-controlled effects pedals.

Progress Update

Creating the top of the enclosure using the ShopBot

Enclosure

Before the break, I hurriedly attempted to finish the enclosure for my pedals, using the ShopBot CNC machine and 3D printers that I knew I wouldn’t have access to come the weeks ahead dealing with this pandemic.

Using 3/4" poplar, I created a simple nail and glue frame (~12" x 15" x 5") where a CNC machined lid would fit snuggly on top, with pockets for each button, sensor and LED to be placed comfortably.

Bare enclosure with no components, sanding or gluing

LED-embedded Guitar

With this same mindset of trying to finish as much as I could before losing access to a plethora of tools and machines, I began drilling holes in the neck of my Fender Starcaster where the LEDs will be placed for my distortion / accelerometer circuit. I used a standard drill press with a handmade jig to keep the guitar level, drilling above each fretboard inlay.

Drilling holes on my Starcaster’s neck (felt wrong, but it’ll be worth it)

On the backside of the neck, I used a hand-router to carve out a groove where the wires can run unnoticed along the length of it. I’m hoping once the LEDs and wires are in place to fill in this groove with an epoxy resin, but without access to our Makerspace, we’ll see what happens within the coming weeks.

I also got to test out some laser engraved and cut clear acrylic circles that would fill the holes on the front side of the neck to diffuse some of the LEDs’ light and was quite happy with the results.

Frosted acrylic inlay test with LED

Circuits

Last week after finishing the lid to my enclosure, I noticed my tremolo circuit wouldn’t fit with its 3DPT button still attached to the PCB. So, I attempted to remove it to then run leads from the board to the same button so I could have a bit more playing room. Attempted.

I broke the damn thing.

Not the first time I rendered a pedal useless by trying to remove a component and apparently adding too much heat to the solderable connections. Regardless, I ordered another used tremolo and connected it to my completed Arduino-tremolo circuit but now I have a new problem. Like with my delay pedal, I’m not getting the full range of resistance possible with my current setup. The rate of the tremolo doesn’t get nearly as slow as its supposed to which is disheartening — not sure why but hopefully this will be addressed and managed accordingly.

My distortion circuit is untouchable and won’t be back in a prototyping stage until I get my guitar wired with molex connections and then connected to my enclosure. I aim to finish wiring the guitar within the next week and having the enclosure wired and finished within the next two weeks but we’ll see if I can hold to these deadlines.

Not that I don’t have faith in myself but we’re living in a global pandemic, so what the hell.

Godspeed to my fellow seniors.

--

--