Reflection Feb 19–26

Peter Hansinger
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020
2 min readFeb 26, 2020

This week for my thesis project I worked on the first visual poem in a series of four that I am going to create. Here is the poem:

Still

Wattttt

ttttter

Is

Where

My

I’s

Nevvvvvvvv

vvvvvvver

Go

Unless

We’re being

Read

(focus)

(Ready

Paint

How

Many levels

Should we

Create)

Stamp

stamp

stamp

(((((stståamap)))))

Time is the end?

no

Hope

Fully

This

stillness

deeper

I don’t believe in rules

And I won’t be understood

By anyone

But

Us

And

u

n

d

e

r

ü

I am almost finished with completing the video. I did not realize how tough it would be to find the exact word I need without any music in it. It has proven to be difficult but I am still confident I will be able to find the necessary words for the rest of the poems as well. It will just take some time and dedication to find the right words and videos.

Also, I researched these type of videos and found none in this format that tell their own story. It is always some type of song that is made that serves as a joke. I believe what I am doing is unique and original, and I think the poems are bold enough to have an effect on people when they watch these videos. While the word are an important factor in the video it is not the only factor. The fact that I chose to display my poetry in this manner tells a lot of the story as well. Instead of making a spoken word video with nice aesthetics I chose a chaotic mash up of different videos. I did this because it gives off the sense of uneasiness which exists in the poems themselves. Also, it makes the poems more universal as if you don’t know who is saying the poem but it is coming from a multitude of different people all at once. This is an important aspect and for these reasons I think my project is a unique and original take on modern art and poetry.

--

--