Jonah M.
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020
2 min readFeb 19, 2020

--

Reflection: Feburary 19th

Most of this week was dedicated to recording the drums tracks. We recorded drums for 9 songs at Sonic Culture Studios in Pennington, NJ. I worked with my brother Luke earlier this week and last week to make sure he knew the parts.

Everything went smoothly, we finished in about 4 hours. This was really good because we originally thought it could take up to 8 hours. I put some of the money I saved into a digital ad campaign to promote our Spotify page. If I want to have a successful release its important to bring people to our page and have more people streaming our music now. Paid reach now will give up more organic reach later when our singles come out.

Recording everything myself (except the drums) is starting to seem like a bigger challenge than I originally thought. I spent a lot of time working on the 9 demo songs, now I need to completely record the guitars, bass, and vocals again to make them fit in with the new drums. Its going to be hard to do that, especially now that it’s the middle of the semester and all my housemates are home. I can’t do an 8 hour recording session in my room because that would be inconsiderate to everyone else.

Another problem I’m having is that I don’t know how some of these songs are going to sound when they’re done. Some of the lead guitar parts are still unwritten, and I dont know what the bass and rythem guitar will be doing for some of the song.

I played two of the songs “H.I.B." and “Butterflies" for the first time with my band today. You can learn a lot about what works with a song when you play it live. I feel like my writing and recording process has abandoned the rest of my band. I’m nervous about this and hope everything works out.

--

--

Jonah M.
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020

Senior Interactive Multimedia major with minors in marketing and music.