Script Writing — Weekly Update #1

Elaine Ruiz
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020
2 min readFeb 19, 2020

This past week, I connected with different groups online for people who use Quill to create animations and stories with the program. It is incredibly inspiring to see what kind of things people make and everyone is so helpful to answer any questions quickly. One of the developers of Quill suggested a YouTube account for different tutorials to learn more about Quill. The tutorials showed me how much you can really do there. Overall, it has been fairly easy to use with what I’ve tried so far. I am going to continue testing it throughout the week and start sketching out the scenes in Quill.

I’ve been spending the past few weeks editing my script and gathering as many opinions as I can. Now that I’ve written as much as I could to develop the story, I am working on cutting it down a lot more. I’m hoping with enough opinions about which scenes most believe are crucial to the story, I can start cutting things down. It is definitely a difficult balance between trying to get to the point of what abuse can be like, but leaving in the crucial details from building up what seems like a perfect relationship, to the moment everything falls apart, and finally to the healing process as far as a year down the line. It’s important to keep as many details as I can to properly show why it may be so difficult to leave the relationship because it’s the subtle signs of manipulation and gaslighting that leads to more emotional abuse and sometimes even physical abuse. This next week I plan to do my best to get even more people to read it over and hear what impacted them most about the story to educate others on the issue.

--

--