Senior Thesis Update Week of 3/17–3/24

Marcus Moore
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020
2 min readMar 25, 2020

Over the past view weeks circumstantial changes in the process of thesis and the spring semester due to the out break of the COVID-19 virus have caused me to re-evaluate the condition of my thesis and what parts of it are most feasible. Due to the current state of the live action portions of my project and the current need for social distancing, the goal of going to film people on location and in person is no longer a realistic component of my project. The process for creating this part of my project will have to be replaced with an alternative that will hopefully fulfill the same purpose. Over the past week I have been brainstorming alternatives to the previously conceived live action component of my project and looking for ways to achieve a similar outcome to my original plan.

One of the revisions to my project that I have been considering is possibly removing the fictional narrative portion of my project to do away with the need for “actors” in my project. Instead the concept of people’s differing perspectives would stay and the previously proposed idea of having people narrating over the animations that reflected their perceptions would stay. I would conduct online interviews of the people in my project and have them record narrations of their individual perceptions of the associated image I am using in my project. There are some concerns I have about the quality of the individual recordings, but I am still exploring other options to try and achieve a similar effect in that regard. The process is somewhat slow, so in the meantime I am also drafting up new animation ideas so that I will at least hopefully have a decent handful of animations to show off by the end of the semester.

--

--

Marcus Moore
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020

Avid video game and film enthusiast with a passion for the various facets of the entertainment industry.