The World’s Largest Lesson

Jamie Ling
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020
3 min readApr 16, 2020

+Other Great Tools For Educators on Sustainable Goals

While doing my research on sustainability, I came across one site that had a link to “Educational Tools” in the nav bar. While I would normally gloss over this since I am not an educator myself, it just so happens that today a very good friend of mine received a job offer to teach middle school math and science, so I decided to check it out— and I found an amazing site for educators.

The site is called: “The World’s Largest Lesson”. It provides educators of all fields with an innumerable amount of resources to teach their students more about sustainability development goals. The site provides in-depth lesson plans and tons of creative resources for teachers on how to introduce and tackle goals such as “No Poverty”, “Zero Hunger”, “Gender Equality”, “Sustainable Cities and Communities”, “Climate Action” and much more! Additionally, this site is easy to navigate, easy to read and understand, and has many visually appealing graphics (a huge plus to me, educators, and students who browse the site)!

“The World’s Largest Lesson” also provides a multitude of online resources for students to explore from home during this epidemic, with numerous books, comics, animations, games, etc. “The World’s Largest Lesson” and Global Goals is supported by stars such as Leonardo DiCaprio, Beyoncé, Emma Watson, Serena Williams, Malala Yousafzai and more.

It is my belief that in order to maintain what we are seeing as a positive shift in human perspective, to encourage others to be more environmentally/sustainably conscious and aware of all the problems within our world in general, we need to start with informing our young. I highly encourage all educators explore this site and to be a part of these goals. You may also want to check out the additional resources/sites I’ve linked below. Whether or not you use these resources in the classroom is completely up to you, but I just thought I’d share them!:

Great Video For Middle School/High School/College Students. I think TED Talks are great. I’ve linked other helpful talks in my post titled “Let’s Talk Sustainability”.
Super short video to introduce your kids & students to sustainability!
I loved this video! I think it’s definitely one that has to be shown in classrooms. It’s cute, informative, and entertaining for kids.
For younger audiences: Preschool or Kindergarten

Oh! — and one more thing: I found this search engine called Ecosia.org. Ecosia is a search engine similar to Google, except it uses 80% of its profits to plant trees. I haven’t gotten too deep into researching this tool yet, but I thought it would be a cool one for educators to check out themselves. If you think it’s a good-working program and is accepted by your school district, then I would suggest having your kids use it in your classrooms at school! If not, no harm done.

*******

Thank you for reading. Feel free to share this Medium post with educators you know and comment other great tools for educators on sustainability! I’d love to share your suggestions with the teachers I know :)

--

--

Jamie Ling
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020

Production Manager/Designer/Team Leader/Businesswoman/Friend/Mentor and much much more!… Just sharing my thoughts with the world!