Thesis 2/19/20

Tyler Rodriguez
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020
2 min readFeb 19, 2020

What a crazy week! It’s been another one of those weeks where real life and other school work got a little out of hand, so any time i spent on my project was wherever i could squeeze in time. Whenever I have a little time, but not enough to fully dedicate to getting work done, I like to research the techniques i’m gonna need in order to finish my project. I began to research a bit more into what animation techniques would be most effective with the art style I’ve chosen. In fact, Adobe After Effects has a mode called Rubber Hose, which some may recall is what they called those old black and white Mickey Mouse cartoons and the such. Basically, this effect allows for shapes and lines to have a bouncy effect when animated, creating for a smooth and clean looking animation. Many motion graphic designers use this effect in conjunction with simple designs and basic shapes because not only does it look aesthetically pleasing, but it also makes animating much easier. When time is key (such as for this project), any thing that can help make this process easier will be helpful.

In regards to my project, I think I finally found an aesthetic that I really enjoy. I finished my designs for the characters Yamata no Orochi, Shuten Doji, and Ravana. I started work on the characters Scylla and Poseiden, but they’re still in the works. While the designs look kind of simple, they’re actually made from a lot of shapes and lines. Although, I like that they look relatively simple. This sort of minimalist aesthetic is what is very popular nowadays and looks great when it’s animated. I haven’t done anything worth saving yet, i’ve been experimenting with blender and Adobe After effects more. I just want to get comfortable with the software before i commit to anything concrete, but they sure have been interesting to try and figure out!

Seeing how the assignments for this week were related to resumes and jobs, I decided I would touch up my resume and portfolio. I was a little conflicted on how my portfolio should actually look. I’ve heard some sources say having an interesting looking resume, but I’ve also heard that you should keep the resume simple and let your portfolio show your creativity. I think I might make a creative looking portfolio just in case. It never hurts to try!

Until next time blog,

Tyler Rodriguez

--

--

Tyler Rodriguez
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020

Interactive Multimedia major and Graphic Design minor. Senior student at The College of New Jersey. I love Design and all things Art related.