Thesis final reflection

Marina Marshall
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020
2 min readMay 13, 2020

Thesis this year has been a rollercoaster. I am astonished my thesis project is finished. My project is everything I wanted and I am proud of it and myself. There are people who have no idea what they want to do for their thesis. That is okay, there is nothing wrong with that. I would suggest to look into what are your inspirations are and what influences you. If you have more than one inspiration, don’t be scared to use multiple! This will also help keep you motivated to keep at your thesis and finish it just in time.

Don’t forget to take other’s ideas on your project into consideration. Your colleagues are here to help you and help inspire you. To challenge you and your current knowledge I greatly suggest to do something that you want to better yourself at. This will help you not get too confused on a new knowledge but at the same time, helps improve your existing understanding. In order to stay on task for the thesis year, I made sure to plan everything out until the final day of thesis. This is from starting my senior year to the end of my senior year. This schedule is what helped me not be anxious about my work that I had to do for my thesis project. When in doubt, organize your work schedule!

If there was one main thing that scared me about thesis, it was reaching out to people. It is common in thesis to need help from others, whether it is for tools, resources, training or anything. I would suggest to look up these things early in your thesis to make sure it is not all last minute. And never be scared to reach out for anything you will need/need help with! What I learned from my college career is that it is never too early to look into internships. I would suggest looking into internships early on, and apply to any you want.

Do not let your thoughts affect your choice to apply to some internships. Even if you do not think you are qualified enough for one internship, apply to it! Maybe the outcome will shock you. As well as, do not be upset when one of your internships do not keep you after one semester. Many students think you’ll go to one internship and that is it. They will keep you and then later hire you. That is not the case some of the times. Do not let this affect you. The more internships you have, the more filled out your resume will be for future endeavors.

I hope my advice will help some future IMM seniors out. Lastly do not forget, this is your last year as an undergraduate. Make sure to make the most of this year. Make so many memories and know life is filled with so many opportunities!

--

--