Thesis Update April 8th-14th

Luke Snyder
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020
2 min readApr 15, 2020

Due to having to work on the first version of the semester project for another class and continuing progress on a group project for yet another, I wasn’t able to make much progress on my thesis this week. However, I have been getting useful feedback on the intro that I posted last week. I showed the intro to Strawhat himself and he seems to like it, and as for other members of Lions Gaming’s production committee, they note that during the section where I show Strawhat’s long list of wins, they don’t truly feel the impact of his win streak, so that is why I plan on instead showing the results graphics for every tournament, where most of the positions change but he maintains first place.

I also know exactly how I want to structure the episode: because the interview was shot at Stronghold #3, I will interweave b-roll footage of him going through his tournament run, defeating all of his opponents and eventually winning grand finals at the end of the episode. I also will show clips of the last two seasons’ New Jersey power ranking reveals, where Strawhat was announced as being ranked 14th and then 10th best in the state at Smash Ultimate:

I am fairly confident that because Strawhat is such an interesting character, this will be the best episode to start the series off with and it will really entice people to learn more about our Smash community. This is a good time to start releasing it as well, since more freshmen will be coming to the college soon. I’m looking forward to a new generation of TCNJ Smashers who might watch these videos.

--

--

Luke Snyder
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2020

Streamer, video editor, lover of video games and electronic music. Writing about any random topics that fill my ADHD brain.