In the past two weeks, I decided that it would make more sense to possibly ditch the idea of recreating songs and instead writing my own. I realized that since I want to do composing in the future, it would make more sense for my thesis to be based on original music. That being said, I’m thinking I’m probably still going to write music that has a somewhat similar sound and feel to vaporwave.

Once I figured that out, I started writing some music I could potentially use for the final result. While doing so, I realizing that it would be trickier then I thought, just because I am not as familiar with all of the music styles that make up vaporwave. I’m wondering if it would make sense to go beyond analyzing vaporwave songs by analyzing songs that have inspired the genre. For the next week, I will do some more composing and see where I get.

--

--